weekly roundup

This Week @ Eb0nics

I discovered Vince Staples on Earl Sweatshirt’s Hive, then again when he opened for Schoolboy Q at the Silver Spring leg of his Oxymoron tour. He now has dropped his mixtape Shyne Coldchain II. It is a GREAT listen. My favorites are 45, Nate & Earth Science. He addresses his father, relationships, and life living in Long Beach. What’s great is his ability to hold his own with very minimal features from James Fauntleroy and Jhene Aiko. Listen Below

Of course, everyone knows how much I love SZA and her ethereal voice. Her latest video is nothing short of amazing. She makes me long for Spring as well as think deeply about the  theme of suicide that has been recurring in the hip hop world lately.(x x x)

Casey Veggies dropped a new track, “Anything Goes”. This instrumental is so hard it gave me the strength to break out of my procrastination and attack my homework with a vengeance. I initially loved Casey Veggies because his sound reminded me of everything I love about California and the summertime. Now, as he is growing in his music, I hear a different kind of sound that is apparent in this track and I still love it all the same.

This track isn’t new to Gambino, but it’s definitely new to us.

For her birthday, Jhene Aiko released My Afternoon Dream. The name is spot on because it sounds like a dream and one you will want to be wrapped up in all day.

Leave a Reply

